The Ernst-Ruska-Award 2009 of the German Society for Electron Microscopy e.V. (DGE)

was awarded on decision of the Ernst-Ruska-Award Committee

Dr. Linda Amos, Cambridge
Prof. Dr. Alan Craven, Glasgow
Prof. Dr. Jacques Dubochet, Lausanne
Prof. Dr. Gareth Griffiths, Oslo
Prof. Dr. Hannes Lichte, Dresden
Prof. Dr. Knut Urban, Jülich

jointly to the awardees

Prof. Rafal E. Dunin-Borkowski, Dr. Takeshi Kasama, and Prof. Molly R. McCartney

for their work on:

"Electron Holography for Characterisation of Magnetic Fields in sub-100-nm-sized Materials and Devices"

as well as to the awardees

Dr. Saori Maki-Yonekura and Dr. Koji Yonekura

for their work on:

"Contribution Toward Elucidating the Mechanisms of Biological Macromolecular Machines by Cryo-Electron Microscopy"

The awards were presented at the opening ceremony of the Microscopy Conference 2009 in Graz
on Monday, August 31st 2009.
picture of laureates 2009